November 26, 2008

Blessed Assurance

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
O what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
born of his Spirit, washed in his blood.

 
Refrain:
This is my story, this is my song,
praising my Savior all the day long;
this is my story, this is my song,
praising my Savior all the day long.

2. Perfect submission, perfect delight,
visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
angels descending bring from above
echoes of mercy, whispers of love.
(Refrain)

3. Perfect submission, all is at rest;
I in my Savior am happy and blest,
watching and waiting, looking above,
filled with his goodness, lost in his love.
(Refrain)

On You Tube you can listen to a bunch of artists do this song – Aretha Franklin, Michael English, Sandi Patty or the Issacs(bluegrass).

Blessed Assurance.  We know.  I John 5:13 These things have I written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, in order that you may KNOW that you have eternal life.

Many times Satan whispers “give up” or “give in”.  The fact of the matter is God KNOWS.  And we, who claim the name of Christ, KNOW.  You are not in the dark.  Fight the GOOD fight. 

I have always been a competitor.   Son, Leland, shocked me one day when I agreed to be the first coach for Christian Heritage’s football team.  He said, “I’ll play, too”.  Watts, a 7th grader in pads looked like a junior in high school, had already volunteered.  Leland was a junior and played football for the first time.  We kept him out of the recreation program in football – he would have gotten injured. 

Leland enjoyed football.  And when basketball season rolled around he played that, too.  I “helped”, not much, Coach Irwin at CHS.  The Lions won the Tennessee Christian School State title that year.  I have a ring.  The next year Coach Irwin’s team lost in the finals.  Leland was on that team, too.

My children are competitors.  They know their Heavenly Father blessed them with talent.  Perry, Ms. Dantzler, is teaching English in college while working on her Masters/Doctorate.  DeLancey is sewing costumes and selling them on Ebay.   Leland loves his Music major at Lee University.  And, Watts is all about sports and being a chick magnet(like his dad, ha, ha).

My wife is a competitor, too.  You should have seen her pushing my wheelchair at Disney World.  I told her I was the reason for her good looking legs.

Being a competitor is fine and dandy when you know what you are fighting for.  Contend for the Faith.  Never surrender.   Christ willingly chose the cross.  Are YOU striving?  I know what my striving is all about.  Blessed Assurance.  Jesus is mine.

I can almost hear the tumpet.

Danny D

6 Responses to “November 26, 2008”

  1. Perry Says:

    Hey, Dad,

    Great to see you blogging regularly. I’m going to get Deborah, a GTA in my office, to come with me Friday and visit you all. I can’t believe December is almost here again – it seems like we were just having Christmas a few months ago.

    I laughed when I saw the song you had posted. I remember loving this song as a little girl, but now I’ve forgotten half the words and have to mumble/hum when I try to sing it.

    Yesterday I finally submitted my proposal for my thesis to Dr. Thomas by email and I was so nervous. As I left the department, I found myself humming “I Have Confidence” from The Sound of Music, and once again, I only remembered half the words. When the kids I babysit ask for a song, I usually have to make up my own lyrics to music because the words escape me. Thankfully, I’m better at English Composition than remembering lyrics.

    Mom told me all about Disney World. I can’t wait to hear more about it Friday.

    Perry

  2. Bryan Dantzler Says:

    Danny, With our world in turmoil, those words say it all. Blessed Assurance that Jesus is there with us. His grace is sufficient for all our needs. I hope that you and yours have a wonderful Thanksgiving. Margaret and I love you and your family. Grace and peace, Bryan Dantzler

  3. Ellis Eskew Says:

    I remember Perry singing this at 3-yrs-old! She was so cute! The funny thing is, back then she knew ALL the words to Blessed Assurance, Twas the Night before Christmas… and many, many more.

    Blessed Assurance is a special one for me also. I think it’s the simplest songs that mean the most to me. I remember one you used to sing when we were little, Danny. And it comes back to me often.. along with the hand motions…

    “Love Him in the mornin’ when you see the sun arisn’, love Him in the evening when you see the break of day.. and in the in between times when you feel the pressure risin’.. remember that he loves you and he promises to stay. And when life has got you in a hurry… and you just don’t know what to do… remember that He loves you and He always has time for you…sooooo…”

    Thanks for that, Danny! I can hear you singing it now!

    Love to all of you. I’ll be home for Thanksgiving! Ellis

  4. Judy Blanchard Says:

    Hi Dan! I think it’s important to tell folks for what and whom we are thankful particularly at ‘Thanksgiving’. I just want you to know how thankful I am you and your sweet family are a part of my life. I love you all and will be praying special blessings for you each day. Thank you so much for your blog. I just love it and look so forward to hearing all you have to say. I agree totally about Jean’s legs — we girls are all jealous! Hey! Maybe I could push your wheelchair for a while! Love, Judy B.

  5. DeLancey Dantzler Says:

    Ellis! I remember that song too! I haven’t heard that in years. Aw, now I can’t remember all the hand motions! I just remember your fingers running up and down your arm for “hurry.” Good times.

    I can recall when Leland and I sang this song as a duet. We must have been really little because it was back when Fellowship was meeting at the Trade Center. I remember, Dad, you coaching us at home through all the words and their meanings. And I can still hear your voice introducing us in front of the congregation saying, “Old hymns are sometimes best heard when sung by the untrained voices of children.” I remember feeling so special, Dad, that you thought so highly of Leland and me to trust us to sing in front of the entire church.

    I miss all the old songs you used to sing, Dad. Even the silly ones. Sippin’ Cider, Catalina Matalina, Dem Bones, and especially Father Abraham. I can still see us all at the lake singing that one. Some of my favorite memories are with you and your old guitar…

  6. Leland Dantzler Says:

    Aw…DeLancey’s post summed up most of mine…

    I remember football like yesterday. And, to this day, I’m glad you didn’t let me play (not that I wanted to) football when I was younger. I would’ve been snapped like a twig.

    I, like the others, still remember all the fun, simple songs. Unfortunately, like your number one daughter, I have awful memory when it comes to lyrics. Catalina Matalina is the bane of my existence; I love it, but I have NO recollection of the lyrics. DeLancey often tortures me by humming it and then leaving me wallowing in my lack of lyrics.

    I remember, too, when we sang this song. Wasn’t it at the Trade Center? I remember being terrified…but I believed I could do it, because you had confidence in us. I’m so glad you instilled a love of music in me at an early age…that way, I can tell all the other vocal music majors that I’ve been singing since I was three.

Leave a comment